Magic Ereader

Urban Fantasy Book Deals: Vampires, Assassins, and Romance

It’s a new week, and if you’re anything like me, you need new reading material. Here’s a short list of free and discounted ebooks that you can devour like a hungry vampire. A few things to keep in mind:

  • Not all of these deals are permanent, so make sure to double-check the price before downloading to make sure the sale hasn’t expired.
  • I haven’t read all of these books personally and selected them based on the cover and blurb. Please read the reviews and excerpts before downloading.

Last Strand: An Elemental Assassin book

by Jennifer Estep

Every bloody thread has been leading to this . . .

I’ve battled a lot of bad guys in my time, both as Gin Blanco and as the notorious assassin the Spider. But I’ve never faced off against anyone quite as powerful and deadly as the dastardly leader of the Circle secret society.

Just when I finally have a lead on how I can defeat the evil group once and for all, new information comes to light that throws me for a loop. Suddenly, everyone and everything I love is in imminent peril of being destroyed, and I’m racing against the clock to figure out a way to save my friends.

The stakes couldn’t be higher, and the danger has never been greater. Somehow, I need to weave one last strand in my web of death—and kill my enemies before they kill me…

Currently $1.99

Amazon | Kobo | Barnes & Noble | Apple Books | Google Play

Jack of Thorns (Inheritance Book 1)

by A.K. Faulkner

Jack of Thorns Cover

Laurence Riley might be able to see the future, but he can’t see a way to fix his messed-up life. He can’t control anything—not his supernatural talents, not his drug addiction, and not his violent ex-boyfriend. Laurence needs help and he knows it. A lifelong pagan, he turns to his god… and he gets Jack. Jack can help Laurence tame his powers and take control of his life. But it comes at a price: Laurence will need to keep him fed with regular offerings of sex. For the old Laurence, that would’ve been a pleasure. Problem is, Laurence has met Quentin.

Quentin is devastatingly handsome, way out of Laurence’s league (like British nobility levels of out-of-his-league), and unbearably chaste. If that weren’t enough to keep Laurence away, Quentin’s wild telekinesis is even more uncontrollable than Laurence’s precognition. But Laurence doesn’t want anyone else, and Jack is getting hungry.

Then Laurence foresees a glimpse of Jack’s true plan. It will leave a trail of death across San Diego–and Laurence has been helping him do it. The past has taught him that the future can’t be changed. But if Laurence and Quentin can’t stop Jack, there won’t be any future at all.

Jack of Thorns is the first book in a dark urban fantasy series where X-Men meets The Magicians.

“Striking prose and characters make this opening fantasy installment worthwhile.” – Kirkus Reviews

Currently FREE

Amazon | Kobo | Barnes & Noble | Apple Books

Maggie for Hire (Maggie MacKay Magical Tracker Book 1)

by Kate Danley

Maggie for Hire Cover

“If urban fantasy could be bottled, then this story is a shot-glass full of awesomesauce.” – Dark Side of the Covers Reviews

My name is Maggie MacKay. When monsters show up in Los Angeles, I get the call to haul ’em back to the dimension where they belong.

It’s a living.

But I just got word my uncle has teamed up with the forces of darkness to ruin my life. Everyone’s gonna die if I don’t find a magical object before the coming apocalypse. This is going to make the next family reunion a little awkward.

Come along with me, my sidekick elf Killian, and my crazy family in this USA Today bestseller for a snarky urban fantasy adventure with attitude.

WARNING: This book contains cussing, brawling, and unladylike behavior. Proceed with caution.

Currently FREE

Amazon | Kobo | Barnes & Noble | Apple Books | Google Play

Sunshine

by Robin McKinley

Sunshine Cover

A small-town baker uses her magic to confront a post–vampire apocalypse world in this award-winning fantasy Neil Gaiman called “pretty much perfect.”

Although it had been mostly deserted since the Voodoo Wars, there hadn’t been any trouble out at the lake for years. Rae Seddon, nicknamed Sunshine, head baker at her family’s busy and popular café in downtown New Arcadia, needed a place to get away from all the noise and confusion—of the clientele and her family. Just for a few hours. Just to be able to hear herself think.

She knew about the Others, of course. Everyone did. And several of her family’s best regular customers were from SOF—Special Other Forces—which had been created to deal with the threat and the danger of the Others.

She drove out to her family’s old lakeside cabin and sat on the porch, swinging her feet and enjoying the silence and the silver moonlight on the water.

She never heard them coming. Of course, you don’t when they’re vampires.

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Sookie Stackhouse will cheer for this tough and quirky heroine. In Sunshine, which won the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature, McKinley has a vampire novel that is “a smart, funny tale of suspense and romance” (San Francisco Chronicle).

Currently $1.99

Amazon | Kobo

Wolf Freed (Magic Bound Book 1)

by J.E. Cluney

Wolf Freed Cover

Life is hard. Especially when you’re dead. Well, mostly dead.

I thought I had it all, my life set with the perfect apartment, a well paying job, and a hot boss who was into me. The downside? He’s a vampire, and where’s the possible future with an immortal being when you’re simply human?

The choice was too difficult, until he accidentally killed me. What a charmer. Too bad he did a terrible job.

Now I’m not alive, not vampire, and not fully dead apparently. But a whole new world is revealed to me, one of magic, werewolves, shifters, and more. And when a young dead girl needs help, I find myself working with the two men I have feelings for.

Just my luck. What else could go wrong?

Currently FREE

Amazon | Kobo | Barnes & Noble | Apple Books | Google Play

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s